Monday, February 2, 2015

Bud's Commercial

OOOo, while we are talking about things viewed on TV last night on the channel playing the Super-Duper Bowl, can I go on a slight tangent and complain about....Bud's anti-craft beer commercial?  (Its a slightly rhetorical question, cause here I got)  Why is it that if Bud [the largest American brewery owned by a Belgian company that I know of] is soo very not afraid of the craft beer movement that they felt it was a good idea to spend about $9 million dollars telling us all?  And not just telling us, but insulting craft beer and craft beer drinkers?  But soon after they tell us that this is beer that is not to be fussed over, we get told that it is the only beechwood aged beer.  So, yeah, totally don't fuss over that or anything, but so ya know....      Also, while we I'm on the subject of Bud seems to be very anti-craft beer, they also keep buying up any craft brewery that they can get a piece of such as Goose Island and Elysian (Hold on to that thought...it might come up again).   Soo, umm....beer brewed the hard way, like getting all your fermentable sugars from barley...oops, yeah, not how Bud does it.            
      Now I don't want to come off as a beer snob, drink the beer you like.  If you like Bud, drink it, that's great.  I'd ask that you try some others now and then (not all craft brew is double IPA hop bombs, trust me).  And there does need to be a certain amount of respect for the brewing that Bud does, in my opinion not so much of the flavours produced but the consistency of making a product at that scale at numerous sites across the country, that is an accomplishment.                

      Now when I watched the commercial it hit me that not only could I not think of a pumpkin peach beer, but I don't really want to try a pumpkin peach beer (I'm not that bit a fan of pumpkin beers in general).  It seems that  Bud was having similar thoughts, as a VP for Budweiser came out and said that "The only other beer that we reference in the spot is a fabricated, ludicrous flavor combination of pumpkin peach ale."  Now the difference is that I'm just a guy at a computer that likes beer, so I can beg forgiveness of not doing an internet search.  But as it turns out there is a craft brewery that makes a Pumpkin Peach beer, and it turns out that they were purchased by AB-Inbev about a week back.  Welcome to your new family Elysian.

      Generally I enjoy the ads from Bud.  Its always interesting to seem how touching a story they can pull out in 30-60 seconds with whatever their Clydesdale commercial will bring us and the Bud Lite ads tend to be a bit zany but fun to watch.  Though while I might talk about them or post about them online....they've never made me want to go down to the store and buy a bud.  So depending on what you view the goal of the ad was, Bud might be really good at making ads or they may be failing miserably.

No comments:

Post a Comment