Friday, February 27, 2015

Competition Update

Well to update everyone on my alt bier.  As it turns out it picked up a 3rd place in a competition.  This one competed as a North German Altbier vs. a Dusseldor Alt.  Still the score sheets had saying that it had more roast character than would be to style.  I got similar notes on my last score sheet for this beer as well.  Looking at some of my books and some research, I believe the problem was using Carafa instead of Carafa Special.  It seems that switching would help in dropping out some of that roastiness and lend some of the biscuity flavours that would be more to style.  

So...how did it do.  Well lets roll through it.  It was position 4 of 7.  The first judge had it 9/12 for aroma; 2/3 for appearance; 14/20 for flavor; 4/5 for mouthfeel; 7/10 for overall impression.  For a total of 36/50.   The second judge had it at 9/12 for aroma; 3/3 for appearance; 15/20 for flavor; 3/5 for mouthfeel; 7/10 for overall impression.  A total for that was 37/50.  This put me with an average of 36.5 for this competition.  Putting me at the high end of very good.  I have to say that so far this is the highest score that I've picked up for a beer in competition.  I've had a mead take a 37.  

Whats next?  Well there is an award ceremony this Sunday.  So even if I don't pick up any new hardware this weekend atleast I'll get a few more score sheets to provide some more data points.  Speaking of which I found several of my old score sheets but I know that there are two more floating around.  One is fairly current, the other is one of the first competitions I entered.  I know the old one wasn't anything to brag about, but I'd like to have them so I can have exact numbers on how it did.  But back to now...After this weekend the next is the Mazer Cup, which should be 21 March.  Last year they had a webcast of the awards and I'm hoping they will again this year.  Then I have some entries to submit to the first round of the NHC.  As it turns out I have another entry and enough bottles of the Volksmarch Altbier for round one.  

I think that should about wrap it up.   Happy Brewing to all and to all a goodnight!  

Friday, February 6, 2015

Cider Info For a Friend

   So then, a friend of mine had gotten a cider kit and attempted to make a batch of hard cider.  I'm not overly sure of what all happened but she decided to dump it.  So I figure that now is a good time to jot down a few notes on making hard cider.  First lets start with Sanitize, sanitize, sanitize.

   The first step is how far back you are wanting to go in the process.  You can start just about from growing your own apple trees to going to the store and buying some juice.  Seeing as how my friend didn't have a hydrometer I'm thinking that for the purpose of this post we'll just start with going to a homebrew shop and getting a hydrometer.  But really for this round of cider making it'll be easiest start with store brought cider.  Now if you have never read anything else on making cider, let me be the first to tell you; check to see if there are any preservatives in the cider you are buying.  A number of store brought ciders will add preservatives to stop it from fermenting.  Problem is that in attempting to make hard cider, you kinda want to get things fermented.  So check your cider, pasteurized is fine, preservatives are not.  Not that its the only one that will work, but I have found that the Whole Foods brand (365 something or other) works really well.  Plus it comes in its own glass jar.

   So now that you are home from the store with your glass jar containing a cider with no preservatives, you'll need a few other things.  I've seen a few websites saying that you can do things like you can put a balloon over the top or a sponge in the opening or aluminum foil or something like that.  I have no experience with those set ups, they may or may not work, I couldn't tell you.  I use a stopper and an air lock just like any other brew that I'm doing.  They aren't all that expensive but I can tell you from experience that they work.  Now we have our liquid to ferment, a container, and a way to keep unwanted bugs out of your creation.

  Lastly your going to need is a way to convert the sugars in the cider in the alcohol, this means yeast.  Now you can do it the way people have done for years upon years, leave it open, there are yeast everywhere.   You might end up with an amazing hard cider.  You might not.  May the odds be in your favor.  Another path to take is to select a type of yeast and pitch it into the jug of cider.  So far with every round of cider that I've made I have gone with the selecting a strain of yeast to pitch.  Off the top of my head I can say that I have tried EC-1118, Nottingham, White Labs English Cider and a Belgian strain.  The point being that while there are strains marketed for cider you don't have to use them.  At some point I might go more into detail on what I've found on various strains, but you should experiment.

  Though lets take a short break before we going tossing microorganisms into the juice.  Pull out that hydrometer and take a reading.  Note that down somewhere.  Sure you can skip this step, but there really isn't a better way to keep track of your ferment.  And shoot, since you pulled some liquid out for your reading, well, you need to leave some of the liquid that was in the jar out any how.  So go ahead and drink that sample.  Take a few notes on how that tasted.  Now that you've got that all sorted out, lets pitch that yeast.  If you have a dry yeast rehydrate it, if its a liquid yeast toss it in.  Now that you've added the yeast, we have to keep those yeast happy.  You can do a staggered nutrient addition (apple cider doesn't exactly have everything the yeast craves).  You might want to oxygenate a bit.  At the same point I did neither for my first batch and got drinkable cider, sure it might not win piles of awards and bring you internet fame, but if its your first run (or second) toss the yeast in, swirl the bottle, get an air lock on it and put it somewhere safe.

  We're looking for somewhere dark and warmish (probably in the 60s would be good).  Now for the tough part.  Ignore it for a while, 2 weeks, perhaps a month.  I would recommend not touching it for at least the first 2 weeks.  After that take another hydrometer reading.  (While I haven't mentioned sanitation much yet, be sure everything you use through this entire process is sanitized. ) Take that reading and your initial reading and plug them into an online ABV calculator.  If you google it a number will come up.  Now we are really getting to a choose your own adventure scenario.  Whenever you decide that your final gravity is, you have a range of options.  You can bottle right away, you can transfer to a secondary and let it age in bulk for a while longer, you can add spices, you can carbonate.

   But those are all stories for another day.  Lets assume its your first time and say that you just bottled it.  Then sit back and relax and have one of your ciders.

Monday, February 2, 2015

Bud's Commercial

OOOo, while we are talking about things viewed on TV last night on the channel playing the Super-Duper Bowl, can I go on a slight tangent and complain about....Bud's anti-craft beer commercial?  (Its a slightly rhetorical question, cause here I got)  Why is it that if Bud [the largest American brewery owned by a Belgian company that I know of] is soo very not afraid of the craft beer movement that they felt it was a good idea to spend about $9 million dollars telling us all?  And not just telling us, but insulting craft beer and craft beer drinkers?  But soon after they tell us that this is beer that is not to be fussed over, we get told that it is the only beechwood aged beer.  So, yeah, totally don't fuss over that or anything, but so ya know....      Also, while we I'm on the subject of Bud seems to be very anti-craft beer, they also keep buying up any craft brewery that they can get a piece of such as Goose Island and Elysian (Hold on to that thought...it might come up again).   Soo, umm....beer brewed the hard way, like getting all your fermentable sugars from barley...oops, yeah, not how Bud does it.            
      Now I don't want to come off as a beer snob, drink the beer you like.  If you like Bud, drink it, that's great.  I'd ask that you try some others now and then (not all craft brew is double IPA hop bombs, trust me).  And there does need to be a certain amount of respect for the brewing that Bud does, in my opinion not so much of the flavours produced but the consistency of making a product at that scale at numerous sites across the country, that is an accomplishment.                

      Now when I watched the commercial it hit me that not only could I not think of a pumpkin peach beer, but I don't really want to try a pumpkin peach beer (I'm not that bit a fan of pumpkin beers in general).  It seems that  Bud was having similar thoughts, as a VP for Budweiser came out and said that "The only other beer that we reference in the spot is a fabricated, ludicrous flavor combination of pumpkin peach ale."  Now the difference is that I'm just a guy at a computer that likes beer, so I can beg forgiveness of not doing an internet search.  But as it turns out there is a craft brewery that makes a Pumpkin Peach beer, and it turns out that they were purchased by AB-Inbev about a week back.  Welcome to your new family Elysian.

      Generally I enjoy the ads from Bud.  Its always interesting to seem how touching a story they can pull out in 30-60 seconds with whatever their Clydesdale commercial will bring us and the Bud Lite ads tend to be a bit zany but fun to watch.  Though while I might talk about them or post about them online....they've never made me want to go down to the store and buy a bud.  So depending on what you view the goal of the ad was, Bud might be really good at making ads or they may be failing miserably.

Sunday, February 1, 2015

Race for the Points

So, just for fun (since I know no one really reads this) I'm going to see how many competition points I can acquire in 2015.  I think that in 2014 I racked up ummm..I don't remember.  I know that last year I had an entry in the mazer cup, an entry in the national homebrew competition (first and last round), and an entry in  the Beer Blitz.  I think I got about 30 in each so that would put me around 150.  The plan is to break that record.

  This year I have my Alt Bier entered in the Portland Mashing Maineiacs Ground Hogs Day Competition and the Battle of Fredericksburg Competition.  I have 3 meads that will be going to the International Mazer Cup (a traditional, a metheglin and a cyser).   Then tomorrow I can put in my requests for the National Homebrew Competition.  I'm sure there will be more along the way, like I'd like to enter the Dominion Cup and the VA Beer Blitz.

  If my brother were brewing beer I'd challenge him directly, but should anyone else stumble across this and wish to see how they do, leave a comment and we'll see where it goes.


Happy Brewing!